Tuesday, 16 September 2014

The Indian Ocean Commission: what is at stake for France ?

François Hollande began his Indian Ocean tour on Thursday 21 August. His visit had originally been scheduled to start at the end of July but was postponed following the Air Algérie crash in Mali. His visit began in the French department of Réunion. Tomorrow, the President will go to Mayotte, the 101st French department since 2011. For the last day of his tour, François Hollande will participate in the 4th Summit of the Member States of the Indian Ocean Commission (IOC) on Saturday which will be an opportunity to focus on this little-known regional organisation and France’s place within the organisation. The Indian Ocean Commission, which was formed in 1984 following the Victoria Agreement, has five member countries: Madagascar, Seychelles, Mauritius, Comoros and France via Réunion.