Teknoloji Haberleri internet Haberleri Web Güvenliği Teknoloji Yazılım Bilim Teqnoloji
Top African researchers awarded through EU support


Wednesday, 05 February 2014

Top African researchers awarded through EU support

This year's African Union Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Awards, which are sponsored by the European Union (EU ) through the African Union (AU) Support Programme were presented during the opening session of the 22nd AU Summit of Heads of State and Government. The Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Awards recognizes top African researchers who engage in pioneering research aimed at contributing to the wellbeing and improved quality of life for Africa's citizens.
There are different categories, including for female African researchers at sub-regional level and the continental level. This year's continental awards have been presented to:

  • Prof. Andre Bationo from Burkina Faso, a soil scientist working on soil fertility, winner in the field of Earth and Life Sciences and
  • Prof. Kayode Oyebode Adebowale from Nigeria, a chemist working on industrial, food, analytical and environmental chemistry, winner in the field of Basic Science, Technology and Innovation.

The EU wishes to express its congratulations to Professor Bationo and Professor Adebowale on the award of this prestigious prize. The European Union support to the Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Awards forms part of the EU-Africa Partnership on Science, Information Society and Space.
Since the launch of the prestigious Kwame Nkrumah Scientific awards in September 2008 by the AU, the EU has contributed over 2 million Euros in Prizes and reaffirms its commitment to support African Human Resources, Science and Technology initiates in the future.

Source: Delegation of the European Union to the African Union