Teknoloji Haberleri internet Haberleri Web Güvenliği Teknoloji Yazılım Bilim Teqnoloji
CTA and IOC sign MOU to address vulnerabilities and improve food security

Video guest: Josephine Mwangi

September 2018
27 28 29 30 31 1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30


Follow the CTA Brussels Daily


twitter logo


facebook logo cta

Monday, 22 April 2013

CTA and IOC sign MOU to address vulnerabilities and improve food security

The Technical Centre for Agricultural and Rural Co-operation (CTA) and the Indian Ocean Commission (IOC) signed on 18th of April in Brussels a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) to foster greater cooperation between the two organizations.
The signing is a follow-up to a regional Briefing organized by CTA, and held in Mauritius in April 2012, which addressed the topic of vulnerabilities of small island economies and resilience in key areas of agricultural production, trade and environment.
Hence, the goal of the MoU is to strengthen the cooperation between the two organizations on topics of Agricultural and Rural Development policies, natural resources management, as well as to induce an increase an food productivity and agricultural regional trade.  
Thus, according to the MOU, critical areas of collaboration include: climate change, agriculture, fisheries,  green economy, and  development of learning and knowledge platforms for policy dialogue and other identified areas of interest to agricultural development.  Other areas are institutional capacity strengthening, promotion of south-south cooperation, and mobilization of partnerships that complement development efforts in the region.
A detailed plan of action will be developed and reviewed annually.
The Technical Centre for Agricultural and Rural Cooperation (CTA) is a joint ACP-EU institution active in agricultural and rural development in ACP countries. Its mission is to advance food and nutritional security, increase prosperity and encourage sound natural resource management in ACP countries.
The Indian Ocean Commission (IOC) is an intergovernmental organization based in Mauritius that was created in 1982.  It is comprised of five countries in the Indian Ocean, namely: Union of the Comoros, France/Reunion Island, Madagascar, Mauritius and Seychelles. IOC is the only organization in the region which is composed exclusively of Islands; it stands at defending the Islands’ mutual interest at a regional and international level, whilst promoting solidarity and sustainable development.

Source: CTA