Video guest: Josephine Mwangi

July 2018
25 26 27 28 29 30 1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31 1 2 3 4 5



Follow the CTA Brussels Daily


twitter logo


facebook logo cta

Monday, 25 July 2011

The Commission announces new humanitarian funding for drought victims

Kristalina Georgieva, the European Commissioner for International Cooperation, Humanitarian Aid and Crisis Response, announced new aid funding for famine and drought victims on the first day of a visit to Kenya. The Commission is making an immediate allocation of 27.8 million euros, which comes on top of the 70 million euros already given to the region this year, in response to the worsening humanitarian situation in the Horn of Africa.

Kristalina Georgieva visited the Dadaab refugee camp where she met families driven from Somalia by decades of conflict and the worst drought in 60 years. The drought and the massive displacement of people in the Horn of Africa, in addition to high food prices and dwindling resources, have created the world's largest humanitarian crisis. Some 11 million vulnerable people are now affected.

"This unprecedented crisis in the Horn of Africa calls for an unprecedented response," said the Commissioner, speaking ahead of the visit. "This is why, on top of today's announcement of new funding of €27.8 million, I have started the process to mobilise another €60 million to alleviate the suffering of so many people. This will bring our response to nearly €158 million." She added: "Europeans have responded generously to this crisis but the situation is getting worse, especially in Somalia. In Dadaab more than 400,000 people are living in refugee camps intended for 90,000. Every day more than 3,000 Somalis are fleeing across their country's borders to seek food and security in Ethiopia and Kenya. […]

This new aid package will provide food and nutrition to the most vulnerable households. Assistance will also be given to safeguard animal health and protect livestock in Kenya, Ethiopia, Somalia and Djibouti.

Source: European Commission