Teknoloji Haberleri internet Haberleri Web Güvenliği Teknoloji Yazılım Bilim Teqnoloji
EU, ECOWAS sign agreement to support integration

Video guest: Josephine Mwangi

September 2018
27 28 29 30 31 1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30


Follow the CTA Brussels Daily


twitter logo


facebook logo cta

Wednesday, 16 February 2011

EU, ECOWAS sign agreement to support integration

The European Union (EU) and the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) have signed an agreement in the Nigerian capital, Abuja, under which the EU would provide 37 million Euros for the construction of three joint border posts in West Africa.  Under the agreement, two joint border posts would be constructed along the Abidjan-Lagos corridor on the Nigeria-Benin border (Seme-Krake) and the Togo-Ghana border (Noepe) under the responsibility of ECOWAS. One joint border post would be constructed on the Benin-Niger border (Malanville) under the responsibility of West African Economic and Monetary Union (UEMOA), whose membership is French-speaking West African countries.  The statement said the contracts recently signed by the EU, ECOWAS and UEMOA were part of the EU support to West Africa's regional activities in the area of transport facilitation under the 9th European Development Fund (EDF) 2000-2007, for a total of 82 million Euros. These funds, it said, supported various activities in the road, railways, maritime, and aviation sectors with a view to facilitating the free movement of persons and strengthening intra-regional trade. Under the 10th European Development Fund (2008-2013), the EU has allocated a total of 597 million Euros for the support to the regional integration process in West Africa. The EU has also allocated a total of 402 million Euros in support to Ghana for the same period.