Video guest: Josephine Mwangi

January 2018
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31 1 2 3 4



Follow the CTA Brussels Daily


twitter logo


facebook logo cta

Tuesday, 28 November 2017

Fourth meeting of the Joint CARIFORUM-EU Council

The Fourth Meeting of the Joint CARIFORUM-EU Council under the Economic Partnership Agreement (EPA) took place in Brussels, Belgium, on 17 November 2017. The Meeting was co-chaired by Ms. Cecilia Malmström, EU Commissioner for Trade and by Mr. Sven Mikser, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Estonia and representing the EU Council. The CARIFORUM delegation included Ministers of CARIFORUM States and was led by Senator the Honourable Ms. Kamina Johnson Smith, Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade, Jamaica. EU Member States were also present. The Joint CARIFORUM-EU Council is the highest body of the CARIFORUM-EU EPA and is vested with the responsibility of supervising the implementation of the EPA. The Council meets every two years for political discussion and to provide ministerial guidance for EPA implementation. The Meeting noted the recommendations emanating from the Third Meeting of the CARIFORUM-EU Parliamentary Committee, held on 31 October - 1 November 2017 in Trinidad and Tobago and the Third Meeting of the CARIFORUM-EU Consultative Committee, held on 6-7 November 2017 in Trinidad and Tobago, which reflect the important role those Committees have in EPA implementation and communication.

Source: EIN news