Video guest: Josephine Mwangi

July 2018
25 26 27 28 29 30 1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31 1 2 3 4 5



Follow the CTA Brussels Daily


twitter logo


facebook logo cta

Monday, 01 December 2014

Cemac Zone: Towards a common agricultural policy

A Common Agricultural Policy is in the process of being honed for the Economic and Monetary Community of Central Africa (Communauté économique des États de l’Afrique central – CEMAC) and the Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS). In actual fact, when they met on Thursday in Chad capital Ndjamena, the Ministers of Agriculture of these countries were working on the outlines of this strategy. The tools available to them include the Central African Regional Programme for Food Security, the Regional Agricultural Investment, Food Security and Nourishment Programme, the Special Regional Agricultural Development Fund, the Regional Central African Cotton and Textiles Development Strategy, and the establishment of a Regional Animal Health Centre.

Chadian Prime Minister Kalzeubé Payimi Deubet confirmed that the validation of these procedures will strengthen the initiative in place designed to improve regional integration. CEMAC, it should be borne in mind, includes 6 nations – Cameroon, Congo, Gabon, Equatorial Guinea, the Central African Republic and Chad, who have committed themselves to promoting the harmonious development of the Member States in the framework of a genuine common market. ECCAS itself has 10 member states:  Angola, Burundi, DRC, Sao Tome-et-Principe, and the six CEMAC nations.