Teknoloji Haberleri internet Haberleri Web Güvenliği Teknoloji Yazılım Bilim Teqnoloji
European Union supports achievements in national resilience planning

Video guest: Josephine Mwangi

August 2019
29 30 31 1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31 1


Follow the CTA Brussels Daily


twitter logo


facebook logo cta

Wednesday, 21 May 2014

European Union supports achievements in national resilience planning

The Cook Islands, Palau and Federated States of Micronesia (FSM) have finalised key national governance and resilience planning milestones. This gives these countries a strategic perspective on priorities to address disaster-related risks under the European Union-funded project EDF 10 ACP EU: Building Safety and Resilience in the Pacific.
‘Cook Islands, Palau and FSM are the first Pacific Island countries to achieve agreement on their country priorities for Year 1. This is important for improving safety and resilience of their communities on the ground. We envisage that the other Pacific ACP States supported by the project will complete this step by August 2014,’ said Taito Nakalevu, SPC Project Manager for the EDF 10 ACP EU project.
The three countries have achieved their National Steering Committees and key documents that set a framework for coordinated national resilience action.
Maylene Joshua of the National Emergency Management Office under the Office of the Vice President in the Republic of Palau stated ‘With the funding provided under this project, the Palau National Emergency Management Office can now continue with its mandated responsibilities ensuring that those communities that were affected by the last two super typhoons will be prepared and have the proper resources and skills on-hand in case of future events of natural disasters.’
The Country Implementation Plans highline strategic direction and activities to decrease vulnerability of Pacific Island countries and economic, and environmental costs of disasters. The plans includes actions such as strengthening early warning systems, strengthening the inter-operability of emergency service agencies, and development of minimum building standards.

Source: The Secretariat of the Pacific Community